Oboe Reed Drying Rack – now available for purchase

Oboe reed drying rack displaying handmade oboe reeds

Oboe reed drying rack displaying handmade oboe reeds

I have become a big fan of reed drying racks. Bassoon players are very familiar with them but as oboe players, they haven’t been part of our reedmaking process. I bought one a few years back from an oboe supplier and I really fell in love with it.

Because I am making LOTS of oboe reeds daily, the drying rack keeps the reeds off my work table and safe from rolling around on the desk. I don’t need to have really expensive reed cases that hold a million reeds. Since I may still be working on them I don’t want to put them in shipping tubes packaged as if they are ready to sell.

Something else I love about the reed racks is I don’t have to put oboe reeds in my reed case unless they are ready to be played. If I can’t break those bad boys out at a performance, I don’t want them taking up room in my reed case. My case is for reeds-at-the-ready only! And I don’t want to lug around one of those cases that holds 50 reeds. For one thing those cases are huge and I need all the extra room in my gig bag I can get.

Our oboe reed drying racks have seventeen pegs for holding reeds. They come in natural wood with a semi gloss finish or stained wood with semi gloss finish (stained version coming soon!).

Www. reedpros.com is now selling the oboe reed drying racks. Please come by and check them out!

This entry was posted in Oboe Reed Making, Reed Pros Products and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oboe Reed Drying Rack – now available for purchase

  1. Casey says:

    Never thought about using them for oboe… actually a fantastic idea! Something I think I’ll be looking into in the near future.

  2. Pingback: Arundo Donax: Journey from cane to oboe reed – Part 1 | Reed Pros

Leave a Reply

